By: Alok Nayak

9 New UFC Champions in 2022: Alex Pererira, Islam Makhachev and More

Image Credit: UFC

In 2022, we have seen 9 UFC champions so far including Alex Pereira's win over Israel Adesanya at UFC 281.

It all started with Deiveson Figueiredo beating Brandon Moreno to win back his bantamweight title in the trilogy at UFC 270.

However, Brandon Moreno is now the new interim champion after beating Kai Kara France in the co-main event of UFC 277.

At UFC 274, Carla Esparza beat Rose Namajunas to win the title. However, Zhang Weili beat Esparza to become the new strawweight queen at UFC 281.

Jiri procházka beat Glover Teixeira at UFC 275 to win the UFC light heavyweight champion.

At UFC 277, Amanda Nunes won her bantamweight title back by beating Julianna Pena in the rematch.

Leon Edwards shocked the world by knocking out Kamaru Usman to become the new welterweight champion at UFC 278.

Islam Makhachev submitted Charles Oliveira to become the new undisputed lightweight champion in the main event of UFC 280.

More Stories.


Three Dominant UFC Champions Who Suffered Brutal Loss in 2022!!