SPORTSMANOR

Did Jiri Prochazka Tap Against Glover Teixeira - Referee Explains

Jiri Prochazka and Glover Teixeira put on a masterclass in the UFC 275 headliner.

Teixeira and Prochazka shared the UFC Octagon in the main event of UFC 275 for the UFC light-heavyweight championship. After everything was said and done, it was Prochazka who emerged on top with a submission victory over the MMA veteran.

The loss marked the first submission loss for Glover Teixeira, who succumbed to his first defeat in six fights.

In what was a highly entertaining bout, both the fighters had their fair share of moments. While Prochazka won the fight via submission, it was Teixeira who was quite evidently dominant on the ground, and had numerous submission attempts made on the Czech-born fighter.

With some vicious ground and pound on several occasions, fans noticed Prochazka seemingly tapping on Teixeira, raising several eyebrows on whether it was a submission of defeat.

Referee of the night, Marc Goddard cleared the air surrounding Prochazka tapping on Glover, while responding to a fan on Twitter.

"Lol. Jiri was actually congratulating & encouraging his opponent! He done it a couple of times and I told him it’s a risky game lol! But it’s very clear what he was doing and intending. Lets celebrate the incredible feat from both gentleman." Marc Goddard clarified.

In case you didn't know, Glover Teixeira was winning the fight on the judges' scorecard had he gone the distance against Jiri Prochazka at UFC 275.

Arrow

More Stories

Visit Sportsmanor for more stories.